Speak to an expert
Call our free helpline
Corn is used in everything imaginable. In addition to being eaten straight off the cob or as popcorn, corn is used to manufacture corn syrup, an artificial sweetener and corn starch, which is in everything from cardboard to biodegradable containers. Corn can be extracted as dextrimaltose, dextrin, dextrose, fructose, glucose, glucose syrup, glucose tablets, cereal starch, edible starch, modified starch, starch, vegetable oil and sweeteners. So eliminating hidden corn from the diet can be a real challenge.
Corn is used as a substitute for wheat for Coeliac disease suffers; those who cannot tolerate gluten. Unfortunately, a misuse of the term gluten means it is now fairly common to call corn storage proteins corn gluten. As far as we know, corn does not cause harm to Coeliac patients. For those known to be suffering from corn allergy or intolerance there are obvious alternatives such as wheat, rye and rice that can be eaten.
The best accepted way to confirm which food types you may have a food sensitivity to is an elimination diet. One food type at a time is restricted in your diet for several weeks, then a different one. By a process of elimination and monitoring, you can see which individual foods you react to. However, it could be a combination of food types that are the problem, so an elimination diet can be a time consuming and ineffective process.
Take the First Step now for only £9.99
†Allergy UK report (2007), "Stolen Lives 3, The Food Allergy and Food Intolerance Report".